Thursday, March 24, 2011

Ultimate Twins Team Bracket: 1987 vs. 2010

(Click to Enlarge)
March Madness continues here at NoDak Twins Fan as we try to figure out who would win a battle of the best teams in Twins history. Last week the #1 seed 1991 team beat the #4 seed 2006 team in four games. In the second match-up of the weekend the #3 seed 1969 team upset the #2 seed 2002 team to make it to the Final Four.

The first match-up on the opposite side of the bracket will pit the 1987 World Series Champions vs. the 2010 Inaugural Target Field team. Can the 2010 Twins be the first club to upset a #1 seed?

1987 Twins Batting/Positions (By Games Played)
C Tim Laudner (.191 BA, 16 HR, 43 RBI, .640 OPS)
1B Kent Hrbek (.285 BA, 34 HR, 90 RBI, .934 OPS)
2B Steve Lombardozzi (.238 BA, 8 HR, 38 RBI, .650 OPS)
SS Greg Gagne (.265 BA, 10 HR, 40 RBI, .740 OPS)
3B Gary Gaetti (.257 BA, 31 HR, 109 RBI, .788 OPS)
LF Dan Gladden (.249 BA, 8 HR, 38 RBI, .673 OPS)
CF Kirby Puckett (.332 BA, 28 HR, 99 RBI, .900 OPS)
RF Tom Brunansky (.259 BA, 32 HR, 85 RBI, .841 OPS)
DH Roy Smalley (.275 BA, 8 HR, 34 RBI, .763 OPS)

2010 Twins Batting/Positions (By Games Played)
C Joe Mauer (.327 BA, 9 HR, 75 RBI, .871 OPS)
1B Michael Cuddyer (.271 BA, 14 HR, 81 RBI, .753 OPS)
2B Orlando Hudson (.268 BA, 6 HR, 37 RBI, .710 OPS)
SS JJ Hardy (.268 BA, 6 HR, 38 RBI, .714 OPS)
3B Danny Valencia (.311 BA, 7 HR, 40 RBI, .799 OPS)
LF Delmon Young (.298 BA, 21 HR, 112 RBI, .826 OPS)
CF Denard Span (.264 BA, 3 HR, 58 RBI, .679 OPS)
RF Jason Kubel (.249 BA, 21 HR, 92 RBI, .750 OPS)
DH Jim Thome (.283 BA, 25 HR, 59 RBI, 1.039 OPS)

Best of 5 Series
Game 1 Match-Up: Frank Viola vs. Francisco Liriano
Two lefties square-off in this game one match-up from the Metrodome. Viola has the proven track-record in the postseason and this definitely shows in this game. Liriano put together four very good innings before the wheels started to come off. Back to back doubles followed by a walk end the day for Liriano. The bullpen of the Twins does him no favors and the 5th inning turns into a long one for the '10 team.
1987 Twins 6
2010 Twins 2 ('87 Twins Lead Series 1-0)

Game 2 Match-Up: Bert Blyleven vs. Carl Pavano
Two old gunslingers face off in this game two pitcher's duel. Both teams have a lot of base-runners in the opening innings but well timed pitching allowed the scoreboard to remain at zeros. The Homer Hanky crowd would be silenced in the 7th by homeruns from Mauer and Thome. The five-run 7th inning was enough to put the '10 team on top. Capps came in to give up one run in the ninth but still got the save.
2010 Twins 5
1987 Twins 4 (Series Tied 1-1)

Game 3 Match-Up: Les Straker vs. Brian Duensing
The first game of the series at Target Field featured a very different feel than at the Metrodome. The cold March weather isn't ideal for outdoor baseball. Both teams were forced to go to their bullpen's early and this would impact the rest of the series for the '10 team. Al Newman would get a late-inning pinch hit that would led the '87 Twins to the win.
1987 Twins 9 
2010 Twins 5 ('87 Twins Lead Series 2-1)

Game 4 Match-Up: Frank Viola vs. Scott Baker
Tom Kelly saw a chance to take control of the series and went back to his ace for Game 4. Gardenhire didn't have enough confidence in Liriano to give him the ball on short rest, so Baker got the start. Viola was once again in control and pitched eight innings while allowing three runs. Gaetti would hit a bases clearing triple in the 4th inning off of Baker to be the star of the game.  Reardon would shut the door in the 9th to clinch the series of the '87 squad.
1987 Twins 6
2010 Twins 4 ('87 Twins Win Series 3-1)

Tomorrow's match-up will be for the last slot in the Final Four of the Ultimate Twins Team Bracket. The battle is between the 1965 Twins and the 1970 Twins.Who will be making the trip along with the '91, '87, and '69 Twins? Tune in to find out who will move on in the madness.


Topper said...

Wow! That's a bracket buster for me -- I for sure had 2010 winning this series and possibly going to the championships

NoDak Twins Fan said...

It is the year of bracket busters